Home Politics NPP primaries: List of all the incumbent MPs kicked out

NPP primaries: List of all the incumbent MPs kicked out


he generally peaceful New Patriotic Party parliamentary primaries held on Saturday, June 20, 2020, has produced some surprising results in the build-up to the December general elections.

Results certified by the Electoral Commission (EC) reveal that at least nine top-ranking legislators of the governing party have been kicked out.

While some have hailed the ousting of the politically deep-rooted incumbents as an indication of the governing party’s democratic credentials, others say it is bad for the party’s parliamentary caucus.

Some political pundits believe the calbre of persons the Majority side of Parliament has lost in Saturday’s primaries will affect its vibrancy in the next Parliament.

For instance, the Chairman of Parliament’s Finance Committee, Dr Mark Assibey-Yeboah lost his seat to a new entrant, Michael Okyere Baafi.

Mr Assibey-Yeboah has been a staunch defender of government’s economic policies in the media and on the floor of Parliament.

With the opposition National Democratic Congress (NDC) getting stronger in its campaign to win back power on December 7, 2020, the outcome of Saturday’s primaries is sure to prove interesting for the governing party.

Below is the full regional breakdown of all the incumbent MPs who lost their seats.

Greater Accra

Nana Akua Owusu Afriyieh – Ablekuma North

Vincent Sowah Odotei – La Dadekotopon

Ahmed Arthur – Okaikwei South

Kofi Brako -Tema Central

Alhaji Habib Saad – Bortianor Ngleshie Amanfro


Daniel Okyem Aboagye – Bantama

Kwabena Owusu Aduomi – Ejisu

Collins Owusu Amankwah – Manhyia North

Ben Abdallah Banda – Offinso South

Kennedy Kankam – Nhyiaeso

Kwame Asafu-Adjei – Nsuta/Kwamang/Beposo


Anthony Effah – Asikuma-Odoben-Brakwa

Abraham Odoom – Twifo Atti Morkwa


Joe Mensah – Kwesimintsim

Ato Panford – Shama

Alex Agyekum – Mpohor

Patrick Bogyako Kwame Saime – Amenfi East


Mark Assibey-Yeboah – New Juaben South

William Agyapong Qauitoo – Akim Oda

Seth Kwame Acheampong – Mpraeso

Ama Sey – Akwatia

Opare Ansah – Suhum

Kwabena Ohemeng – Tinyase Kade

Robert Kwasi Amoah – Achiase


Alhaji Wahab Wumbei – Tolon

Charles Bintin – Saboba


Dr. Kwabena Twum Nuamah – Berekum East

Kwasi Sabi – Dormaa East


Dr. Sagre Bambangi – Walewale

Upper East

Joseph Kofi Adda – Navrongo Central

Upper West

Godfred Bayong Tangu – Wa East

Patrick Adama – Sissala West

Ridwan Abass – Sissala East


Ghanabanews is not responsible for the reportage or opinions of contributors published on the website. 

Send your news stories to www.ghanabanews.com and via whatsApp on +233243359263


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here